jimmyprosciutto

sharing (Italian) food to enjoy life

Prosciutto Sushi Revisited

Posted by Jim Carfrae on December 22, 2009

Last time I went for sushi the presentation was amazing and the crunchiness of the dragon rolls added an interesting texture.  I have tried to create this inside my prosciutto “sushi” by crisping up some thinly sliced onions and putting about three strands in the middle with the asparagus.

We had people in for a quick appetizer last Sunday before going out.  The “sushi” went over well, however I felt the onion flavour was a bit too subtle, and I need a bit more “CRUNCH”. I love the visual of the tower in the middle, but it is big and needs to be shared with a good friend. Here is the revised:

  • Boil 18-21 spears of asparagus, undercook slightly and plunge into cold water when done to stop the cooking. Lay on a towel to dry as much as possible.
  • Meanwhile thinly slice an onion cut in half lengthwise, break the strands apart and fry in olive oil until just crispy, be careful not to overcook or they will get burnt or be a bit bitter.
  • Lay out two slices of prosciutto, slightly overlapping them. Lay on arugula, 6-7 spears asparagus across the seam and spread the fried onion six strands thick with the asparagus. (The arugula protects the prosciutto from absorbing the moisture of the asparagus.) You will need 6-8 slices of prosciutto
  • Roll the prosciutto around the asparagus as tight as possible. Slice across the roll; leave the end longer for a tower.
  • You will end up with 15-20 pieces depending how thick you slice.

I also added some crumbled Asiago with a balsamic glaze and a bottle of champagne. I received a bottle as a gift, clearly above my usual level. I decided I would prefer to share food and expensive wine with people that appreciate it rather than wait for a special occasion.

3 Responses to “Prosciutto Sushi Revisited”

  1. Looks great, too bad I don’t like asparagus!

  2. Patrick said

    I was lucky enough to sample these at Jim’s and couldn’t get enough of them. On my way to the market to get want i need for more of your awesome ‘prosciutto’ sushi.

Leave a Reply

 
