jimmyprosciutto

sharing (Italian) food to enjoy life

39, 49, 59 Again

Posted by Jim Carfrae on May 10, 2010

We had a party for my mother last week, so I set my kids to work. There was a lot to do so I went with the simplest, fastest appetizer going – Genoa Salami “flowers”. I have commented on these before, but the ease was never so apparent:

  • Fold the slice of genoa in half; fold that half again in thirds. (You can also cut the slice in half if you are short on salami. Shame, shame it that ever happens.)
  • Toothpick with grape tomato and pearl bocconcini
  • I like to have the tomato skin next to the salami, as the salami can absorb the moisture from the cheese – not that children necessarily follow my wish

My daughter also invented a new version – she put the tomato and pearl bocconcini inside the “flower”. She made 75 flowers in about 20 minutes – I just got the last two.

Leave a Reply

 
